This joint complex is made up of three bones, the tibia (large leg bone on the inside of the ankle), fibula (small leg bone on the outside of the ankle), and talus (sits in between the tibia and fibula). There are two joints in the ankle, the tibiofibular joint (between the tibia and fibula) and the tibiotalar joint (between the tibiofibular joint and the talus).